Fishing for Data, 20 May 2020, VIRTUAL – Save the date!

Where: Web

When: 20 May 2020

Background:

Commercial fishing gear such as bottom trawls, pots, traps and long lines can act as platform for oceanographic sensors, which measure physical oceanographic data during normal fishing operations. The lack of ocean data in coastal and shelf-seas holds back operational oceanography, weather forecasting, maritime industries, and climate change monitoring. This same data can benefit fishing operations and fisheries management. We quantify and compare the existing sub-surface data coverage with the spatial distribution of fishing activities, showing that integration with fishing could fill in some of the most pressing gaps in existing ocean observation systems in coastal and shelf-seas. An emerging network of international scientific and industry programs are collecting oceanographic data with fishing gears. Berring Data Collective is an initiative working with EMODnet Physics to promote communication and data standardization between existing programs, and centralized distribution pathways. Progress and future plans on data flows and management are showcased.

Click here for registration and more information

About the event

Fishing for Data Webinar schedule and program:

– the first time slot is: 10:00am CEST (04:00 EST, 20:00 NZST) – link to the webmeeting

– the second time slot is: 19:00 CEST (13:00 EST, 05:00 NZST) – link to the webmeeting

The webinar is organized 30 minutes presentation followed by 30 minutes of Q&A and will discuss about:

– Background, solving problems for fishing industry, fisheries science, and now oceanography

– Technical basis: behavior of fishing gears, new developments, in compact IoT sensors

– Potential to fill spatial observation coverage gaps, and complement existing platforms

– EMODnet on data standards and data flow

– Developments beyond TS profiles and future directions

– Questions & Answers, including panelists from the FOOS and eMOLT programs, which are the first programs, that are running today, to collect data in collaboration with fishing vessels.

Read More

Online il nuovo sito ETT Per il progetto So-Chic

Presso il Royal Belgium Institute of Natural Sciences si è svolto a Bruxelles, dal 27 al 29 Novembre 2019, l’avvio del progetto EuroSea, EuroSea è un progetto europeo finanziato dalla Commissione Europea con 12.6 milioni di Euro attraverso il Programma UE Horizon 2020, all’interno della Blue Growth call Innovation Action (BG-07-2019-2020).

Read More

Con ETT avviato a Bruxelles il progetto Eurosea

Presso il Royal Belgium Institute of Natural Sciences si è svolto a Bruxelles, dal 27 al 29 Novembre 2019, l’avvio del progetto EuroSea, EuroSea è un progetto europeo finanziato dalla Commissione Europea con 12.6 milioni di Euro attraverso il Programma UE Horizon 2020, all’interno della Blue Growth call Innovation Action (BG-07-2019-2020).

Read More

Sostenibilità: anche Sergio Mattarella elogia la casa sannita a impatto zero

All’inaugurazione dell’anno accademico dell’Università del Sannio, il presidente della Repubblica ha elogiato il living lab del Distretto tecnologico Stress.